Skip to content ↓

EYFS Learning Pathway

At Saxon Wood School we believe that every child is a unique and individual and will make progress at different rates. In order to thrive, learn and develop, they need to have opportunities to create positive relationships with others and explore environments that stimulate their curiosity.

Learners on the EYFS learning pathway will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and learning opportunities and experiences will cover the 7 areas of learning:

Prime Areas of Learning

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development 

Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts

A learning through play and first hand experiences approach is the basis for learning. Children’s learning takes place in both indoor and outdoor environments designed to be stimulating and purposeful, reflecting their individual interests and needs. EYFS is experienced through child-initiated, adult directed play, and direct teaching. We aim to develop and strengthen children’s characteristics of effective learning for life-long learning.